It’s Risky

I never like talking about things that EVERYBODY is talking about because I feel so cliché, but I can’t not talk about this.

It’s risky, because there are literally millions of people that are digesting what this post covers.

I’m talking about LOST and the, shall we say controversial season finale last night.

*If you haven’t watched it yet, don’t read on until you do. Spoilers may follow*

I have to talk about it, because it’s all over the place and I personally love the show.

I started watching LOST in the second season. I borrowed the season 1 DVD and then caught up by the end of season 2. I’ve been a faithful viewer ever since. The writing, the acting, the story, the mystery, the movie-like suspense in a one hour prime-time drama have always kept me satisfied (which is good since the story itself always left me wanting more).

There are two different takes on last night’s series finale. It’s been building up all season and last night was either going to leave you satisfied and complete or frustrated and confused. I’m in the first group. I’m extremely satisfied. Even inspired. I thought the finale was nothing short of artistic brilliance.

I’m not overly invested in the characters, nor do I carry a high emotional connection to the fictional people we have been watching for the past 6 years, but I do love a good story. I believe we can learn a lot from a good story. I believe we can find ourselves in the midst of a story that moves us. I think LOST delivered that in spades.

At it’s very core, LOST is a show about the battle between good and evil and the power of love to overcome the greatest of obstacles. (Seriously, a married couple overcame being literally decades apart, among other things.) I love the finale because good and evil finally came face to face after a tango, cat-and-mouse game for the past umpteen episodes. There was a moment when you thought good was just going lose and we would have to find a way to pick up the pieces of what was left and find a way to be satisfied.

Life is like that a lot of the times, isn’t it? We want things to work a certain way, then they don’t. We’re let down. Disappointed. Depressed. Hoping we can salvage enough left overs to put together something resembling happiness and satisfaction only to be let down by the result.

LOST painted that picture last night. Except good didn’t lose the ultimate battle. It made sacrifices, it overcome obstacles, but it didn’t lose. Good won. Love won. Community won. Relationships won. They survived.

Another reason I loved the finale last night was for the imagery of the “after life.” There was joy, love, freedom from fear, freedom from regret and freedom from depression. There was community, wholeness, happiness and peace. Broken relationships were forged back together. Love won… again.

Obviously real life is much different than a scripted, controlled, edited prime-time drama and to think otherwise is childish, not to mention dangerous. But it doesn’t change the fact that we can learn something from the story.

There is a battle between good and evil. It takes love to conquer our obstacles. We will make sacrifices and suffer defeat and sadness. But it’s not over. There is hope. We can chase the light. And we are all a part of the story. We’re not just spectators. We have a role to play.

That’s the story of LOST.

That’s the story of our lives.

And dare I say, that’s the story of GOD.

I’m writing this post as a completely satisfied LOST fan. Satisfied with the story, satisfied with the ending. I’m also writing this as an inspired LOST fan. Glad to see a great story come to a great ending with motivation to engage in the lives of others in order to bring light to their lives.

Call me a geek if you like.

You won’t see me arguing. But you will see me chasing the light.

Your thoughts on last night’s finale?

andy ::

About andy

I like to talk, I like to write. I like to share. This blog lets me do those things. It's just my thoughts, things that happen to me. I'm a pastor and the director of a non-profit organization called Refuge Ministries. (By the way, the thoughts shared on this blog are in no way associated with Refuge, they are just mine...so, don't get upset).
This entry was posted in culture, personal, thoughts, TV. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to It’s Risky

  1. Randy says:

    …came across your Tweet on the feed, and I don’t usually just randomly comment people’s blogs that I don’t know but your review asked what I thought…so, I was very disappointed in the finale. I too have been a fan from the beginning. I never missed an episode, thanks mainly to DVR, I LOVED the ride. I remember vividly the moment in season 3 when the reality of how can this end and leave us all satisfied hit me. My main problem with the ending was the relative view of the afterlife. Yes there were many great elements, many of which you eloquently described above, love, community, happiness, peace and probably most importantly freedom. I very strongly believe in the resurrection of the dead and that we all will live forever, one way or another. I believe that the bible is too clear for us to say that what happens after we die is up to us after we die. We have to make choices now as we live to bring forth good now, to “conquer obstacles” now, to “chase the light” now, and as you put it, to “play our roles” in the story that God is writing with our lives now. After we die…it is too late.

    I want to genuinely thank you for writing this, I have not read a lot of reviews on the finale, and I don’t plan to. This was enough…

    the randy

    • andy says:

      Randy

      great thoughts! thanks for the feedback. i agree about the afterlife part. i don’t know if many people noticed this, i definitely didn’t, but apparently on the stained glass window of the church where the series ended they had representations of various world religions. obviously this show subscribes to no particular faith or belief so the view of the afterlife is flawed. you’re right, the Bible is too clear for anything to be up to us after we die. it has to happen now… in this life.

      one thing i absolutely love about the show is the spiritually seasoned conversations that stem from it. this is something that doesn’t happen with prime-time dramas, it’s really exciting!

      thanks again for your thoughts and the great feedback, i feel like there can be a whole series of posts just on the afterlife part.

      come on back sometime and now if you comment, it won’t be random anymore!

      take care

      andy ::

      • andy says:

        my favorite part about the afterlife imagery was not that they were able to somehow control it, which according to the Bible is not true. but the hope it offers. hopefully there are some conversations about the afterlife that pops up because of this show and people will have the opportunity to realize that they can chase the light now, because if they wait until the light goes out, it might be too late.

Leave a Reply

