This Image Really Bothers Me

I’m a Cavs fan.

I’m a LeBron fan. What he can do on a basketball court is simply breathtaking and amazing.

This image bothers me because of what it represents.


Cavs fans have always been known for their passion and loyalty. Which means when they feel betrayed or let down, they turn that passion into obsession… obviously in an unhealthy way. (If you can remember the beer bottle incident with the Cleveland Browns, you’ll understand what I mean).

Lebron James is a man, with a family, and a desire. A desire to win.

On a smaller scale… a much smaller scale (I’ve never left 30 million on the table and crushed the hopes of an entire city), I undersatnd him. I have made decisions that have let people down. I’ve said no in a way that has hurt people. I’ve said yes in ways that have hurt still other people. It is impossible to please everybody all the time.

I’m glad Lebron didn’t leave for money. It’s almost sickening how much money these guys get paid anyway, but I get it. It’s big business. He left because he wants to win. Can he win in Cleveland? Yes. Just not as quickly as he would like. Fair enough.

Will he win in Miami? Absolutely. If everybody stays healthy, he’ll have a ring within 3 years, easy. And multiple ones after that.

I’m glad he was honest. It was clear leaving Cleveland isn’t easy for him. He knows what he’s doing to the city.

The people who have lived through the fumble, the shot, the drive, Art Modell, now have to deal with “the decision.” It will probably go down as the second biggest let down in Cleveland sports history behind Modell selling the Browns.

But, burning jerseys? I have three worthless Lebron James’ jersey’s in my closet right now. But I’m not going to burn them. I don’t want to see Lebron burn. I’m not interested in seeing him fail. As a matter of fact, I actually hope he wins some championships. I hope he looks back over his career and life with little regret.

I’m 6 months older than he is. I can’t imagine what he went through trying to make this decision. I really do not want him to fail.

I’m sad.

I’ve lost some motivation to put any effort into sports for a while.

I really don’t want to hear anymore analyzing over this whole issue.

I’m “decisioned” out.

But I’m glad it’s over. I’m glad it’s off his chest.

I’m gonna be honest. At some point, I will probably have a Lebron James Heat jersey in my possession. I will still pull for my Cavs over anybody else, but Lebron is an Ohioan.

LeBron,

Thanks for 7 exciting years of great basketball. Good luck in Miami. I hope you’re regret-free and you get what you’ve chased for so long. Remember where you came from, you’ve got a fan in me.

Clevelanders,

Can we keep the jersey burning to a minimum? It’s a little sad and ridiculous, we’ve got enough stuff to deal with. Let’s not add “crazy fanatics” to the list of reasons people want to stay away from Cleveland.

NBA season 2010-11 will be exciting.

Ok… I’m off to bed now. I believe I’ve finished my rant. For now.

About andy

I like to talk, I like to write. I like to share. This blog lets me do those things. It's just my thoughts, things that happen to me. I'm a pastor and the director of a non-profit organization called Refuge Ministries. (By the way, the thoughts shared on this blog are in no way associated with Refuge, they are just mine...so, don't get upset).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to This Image Really Bothers Me

  1. Mike says:

    I’m embarrassed that lebron is an ohioan after that bullshit he pulled in July…You know, I get it. I get why he left. I don’t know what I would have done. I wasn’t in his shoes. But I do know that if I decided on the decision he did, I would have told my family with the respect they deserved…

  2. Mike Again says:

    You know… I dont mean to be vulgar about the whole thing, but its ashame that we get dumped on by someone we loved… To be honest, him leaving is a good thing… It gives us Ohio/Clevelanders just something else to make us feel more united…

    You better think twice before you buy that Heat jersey!!!!!

Leave a Reply

