You Should Read This Book

Even though I haven’t been super consistent on my posting to this blog, my passion for reading and writing hasn’t really changed. I had the opportunity to get an early read on Mike Foster’s new book Gracenomics and I love it.

Grace as always been a fascinating concept to me. I’ve always prayed this prayer, “God, allow the grace you show to me become a motivating factor in my life to not live the same way I’ve always lived.”

As the co-leader of a movement called People of the Second Chance, Mike’s take on grace is very similar. If we extend grace, not only will it create the potential for change in others, but it will change us. It will drive us to realize the things we are so quickly to point out in others are simply hiding behind a different mask in our own hearts.

When we show grace to others, it allows that same grace to extend to us, driving us to be different, better people than we were before.

People who don’t show grace become angry. Angry people become loners. Loners become bitter. When the subject of grace comes up to a bitter person, they become cynical.

I have a lot of friends who are avid gamers, in almost every game, you get restarts. There are checkpoints, magic potions to give you the tools you need to overcome the most difficult of “boss levels.” Grace is like a checkpoint through life. We take steps, we take hits, we feel hurt, we inflict wounds, we succeed, we fail, but there is always a checkpoint of grace not far away.

Read this book, embrace grace.

Grace is an art, not a science. Run after it, create it, chase it, make it.

For a great start, read Mike Foster’s Gracenomics.

You can buy it here.

About andy

I like to talk, I like to write. I like to share. This blog lets me do those things. It's just my thoughts, things that happen to me. I'm a pastor and the director of a non-profit organization called Refuge Ministries. (By the way, the thoughts shared on this blog are in no way associated with Refuge, they are just mine...so, don't get upset).
This entry was posted in thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

