Another Great Day

Today is one of those days when I woke up, I rolled over, and was so happy to be alive. I know that’s a little cheesy sounding. But it’s true nonetheless. I have a stack of books in my room and in that stack of books is a book by John Maxwell called Today Matters. In it, John (I like to think we’re on a first name basis) talks about how we over-exaggerate yesterday, calling it “the good ‘ol days” and we over-estimate tomorrow, thinking that something will happen later to take us where we want to go, and that we under-estimate today, not realizing the potential we have at this very moment to do something great.

It’s a great read, very practical, easily one of those change your life without even realizing it kind of books.

I don’t want to waste today. I’m so happy to be alive. God is so amazing in my life. I’ve had the distinct and amazing privilege of meeting some truly wonderful people over the last few weeks and I’ve had the opportunity to begin sharing my life with them, telling stories, laughing, experiencing life and one thing keeps coming back to my mind.

God has truly given me a great life.

I certainly don’t deserve it and I want nothing more than to honor Him and thank Him every minute of everyday by living this life today, for Him.

We’ve all heard this before, it’s a very “Christian” thing to say. But to be honest, I’m saying it as true as I can.

This life is not my own. If I were to paint a picture of my life as laid out by MY plans, the painting would be horrific compared to the masterpiece that is God’s brush strokes on the canvas of my life.

Enjoy your day today, everybody. Really.

I know I will.

About andy

I like to talk, I like to write. I like to share. This blog lets me do those things. It's just my thoughts, things that happen to me. I'm a pastor and the director of a non-profit organization called Refuge Ministries. (By the way, the thoughts shared on this blog are in no way associated with Refuge, they are just mine...so, don't get upset).
This entry was posted in hmm..., thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment